Jump to content


Photo

Chris Elsby's Tile World patches


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 pillowpc2001

    STRANGE MAZE

  • Members
  • 282 posts

  • Joined: 01-January 12
  • Favourite Set:CC1
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels

Posted 11 January 2012 - 02:55 AM

I just stumbled across Chris Elsby's (creator of Chip's Workshop) website again, which has had more CC content added since the last time I saw it... He now has old Tile World patches that he made available for download...one of which allows you to see the whole 32x32 map during gameplay, which I believe Madhav was interested in at one time...

http://www.microstup...ips/tworld.html
  • 0

#2 AdrenalinDragon

    Quincunx

  • Senior Staff
  • 1,433 posts

  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Location:England
  • Favourite Set:CCLP1
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels
  • My Top CC2 Levels
  • My Bottom CC2 Levels

Posted 11 January 2012 - 03:02 AM

The God Mode sounds interesting, especially to see the whole map. Too bad I don't know how to apply them to Tile World. :(
  • 0

#3 tensorpudding

    FLOORGASBORG

  • Members
  • 195 posts

  • Joined: 01-January 12
  • Favourite Set:N/A
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 11 January 2012 - 05:19 AM

The patches appear to be for an older version of Tile World, it won't even apply cleanly on 1.3.0 anyway, and when I tried to compile it I got errors. The God-mode patch is rather simpler than I imagined though, it might be possible to fix them.
  • 0

#4 tensorpudding

    FLOORGASBORG

  • Members
  • 195 posts

  • Joined: 01-January 12
  • Favourite Set:N/A
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 11 January 2012 - 05:33 AM

The God mode patch basically just adds an option which resets two variables, NXTILES and NYTILES to be 32 each (the whole board) instead of 9 each. It makes the game nigh unusable though because it won't fit in even a reasonably big monitor with the standard Tile World tileset and it can't be resized.
  • 0

#5 KeyboardWielder

    REFRACTION

  • Members
  • 219 posts

  • Joined: 01-January 12
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 11 January 2012 - 05:51 PM

He [Chris Elsby] now has old Tile World patches that he made available for download...one of which allows you to see the whole 32x32 map during gameplay, which I believe Madhav was interested in at one time...


No, I wasn't, but there were others at the NG who were.
It was suggested that such a feature be incorporated in TW2 (I don't know if any of them knew about this patch).

I think it was concluded (or taken as a given) that making this possible while playing a level would be inappropriate, as it would be possible to cheat. There was some discussion about enabling it during replays, but my opinion then and now is that that shouldn't be allowed either. As mentioned above, achieving it involves a trivial code change - which somebody who knew how to build the program could apply. But I don't think that it should be published in an official version.

- Madhav.

(Edit: I was interested in a feature to pan the view area during replay - just after I'd made KW #7 and before TW2 came about.)
  • 0

#6 AdrenalinDragon

    Quincunx

  • Senior Staff
  • 1,433 posts

  • Joined: 31-December 11
  • Location:England
  • Favourite Set:CCLP1
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels
  • My Top CC2 Levels
  • My Bottom CC2 Levels

Posted 11 January 2012 - 06:09 PM

(Edit: I was interested in a feature to pan the view area during replay - just after I'd made KW #7 and before TW2 came about.)


So, does that mean you could implement a camera panning system during a replay or playback of a TWS solution, Madhav?
  • 0

#7 KeyboardWielder

    REFRACTION

  • Members
  • 219 posts

  • Joined: 01-January 12
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 11 January 2012 - 06:27 PM

So, does that mean you could implement a camera panning system during a replay or playback of a TWS solution, Madhav?

Theoretically, you could do just about anything.

- Madhav.
  • 0

#8 pillowpc2001

    STRANGE MAZE

  • Members
  • 282 posts

  • Joined: 01-January 12
  • Favourite Set:CC1
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels

Posted 11 January 2012 - 07:45 PM

(Edit: I was interested in a feature to pan the view area during replay - just after I'd made KW #7 and before TW2 came about.)


That's probably what I was thinking of - I knew it had to do with wanting to see the teeth's path through YCTaOFNT... :)
  • 0

#9 J.B. Lewis

    Clubhouse

  • CCLP4 Staff
  • 1,935 posts

  • Joined: 02-January 12
  • Favourite Set:CCLP1
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels
  • My Top CC2 Levels
  • My Bottom CC2 Levels

Posted 12 January 2012 - 02:17 AM

I like the pannable replay idea.
  • 0

#10 quiznos00

    BLOBDANCE

  • CCLP4 Staff
  • 665 posts

  • Joined: 01-January 12
  • Location:Michael Warner's Island
  • Favourite Set:CCLP4
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels
  • My Top CC2 Levels
  • My Bottom CC2 Levels

Posted 12 January 2012 - 02:47 AM

I like the whole map idea :P

Its presence doesn't have to be blatantly obvious. It could be a command line option, and it could disable saving tws files. And let's face it, anyone could lie about their scores, whether they achieved it using the whole map view or just didn't achieve it at all.
  • 0

#11 pillowpc2001

    STRANGE MAZE

  • Members
  • 282 posts

  • Joined: 01-January 12
  • Favourite Set:CC1
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels

Posted 12 January 2012 - 06:15 AM

I wouldn't support allowing full map viewing during gameplay due to the potential for cheating, but part of me wouldn't be totally against allowing full-map solution playback - a main reason being that Shmuel's solution program that was in limited circulation showed the solutions with the full map, so if a version of TW had it, at least everyone would be on equal footing. :)

Edited by pillowpc2001, 12 January 2012 - 06:15 AM.

  • 0

#12 geodave

    Quincunx

  • Members
  • 1,321 posts

  • Joined: 04-January 12
  • Favourite Set:N/A
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 January 2012 - 11:33 AM

I like the idea of full-map playback. Not on my laptop screen, probably, but still, there are occasions (3144 for example) where it might be nice to see everything.

And, as I said, TW is a great platform to create a whole new game with all kinds of cool features. Internet co-op anyone?
  • 0

#13 Michael

    AMSTERDAM

  • Members
  • 321 posts

  • Joined: 08-January 12
  • Location:Center of the Earth
  • Favourite Set:CC2
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels
  • My Top CC2 Levels
  • My Bottom CC2 Levels

Posted 08 April 2012 - 01:21 AM

I'll do it, dave
  • 1

#14 chipster1059

    NOW YOU SEE IT

  • Members
  • 472 posts

  • Joined: 07-November 13
  • Favourite Set:CCLP1
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels
  • My Top CC2 Levels
  • My Bottom CC2 Levels
Contributor

Posted 14 April 2016 - 08:16 PM

I found a way to enable the full map view without using the patch file, and it still works with Tile World 1.3.2.  I haven't tested it with the 2.x series, but I don't see why it wouldn't work.

 

Download the source code.  In the subdirectory oshw-sdl, there is a file sdlout.c.  You should find these two lines of code:

#define NXTILES  9
#define NYTILES  9

Replace 9 with 32 in both cases, and compile.

 

As already mentioned, the default tileset is way too large and the Tile World window will be larger than most monitors.  You will have to use a smaller tileset.

 

Here is a demonstration with Cloner's Maze in Lynx:


  • 1

#15 Ihavenoname248

    JUMPING SWARM

  • CCLP4 Staff
  • 455 posts

  • Joined: 14-February 14
  • Favourite Set:CCLP4
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC2 Levels
Contributor

Posted 14 April 2016 - 08:28 PM

With that being said, I was able to record Tile World with a size larger than my screen via OBS. The offscreen sections of Tile World still rendered, just to points that didn't exist but OBS could still pick up. I would post my example, but it's Grand Prix 574 and that's not public :P


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users