Jump to content


Photo

Changing Tile World graphics to CC graphics?

tile world cc graphics change help

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 IceyLava108

    When Insects Attack

  • Members
  • 1,027 posts

  • Joined: 14-March 12
  • Location:idk
  • Favourite Set:CC1
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels
Contributor

Posted 01 April 2012 - 04:05 AM

Hey everyone,

I'm not exactly the best at this -- I am more familiar with regular CC than Tile World.

I was wondering how exactly do you change the graphics from Tile World to CC graphics -- I know you need to change the files. [Also, I'm using Tile World 2 (who uses 1 anymore? :P)]

The two tile world graphic files are named tiles and atiles that are running my TW2, and here is the tileset that I have for Chip's Challenge ---

Posted Image

Am I missing a CC tileset .gif? [I have this one for CC and this one only]
Seeing how TW2 uses the regular tiles.gif and the atiles.gif

I need help and I know everyone else probably knows how to do this. Thanks ;)
  • 0

#2 geodave

    Quincunx

  • Members
  • 1,321 posts

  • Joined: 04-January 12
  • Favourite Set:N/A
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 01 April 2012 - 05:22 AM

Atiles is only used for Lynx mode. You can replace tiles.bmp with a file, however you can't just use the file from the MS version -- it's not quite the same. I'm sure someone can send you a file that will work. (Basically, instead of the black and white columns there are pink ones.)
  • 0

#3 KeyboardWielder

    REFRACTION

  • Members
  • 219 posts

  • Joined: 01-January 12
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 01 April 2012 - 05:28 AM

You can replace tiles.bmp with a file, however you can't just use the file from the MS version...
...
(Basically, instead of the black and white columns there are pink ones.)

Actually, you can. The black and white columns version is supported as well.

- Madhav.
  • 0

#4 IceyLava108

    When Insects Attack

  • Members
  • 1,027 posts

  • Joined: 14-March 12
  • Location:idk
  • Favourite Set:CC1
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels
Contributor

Posted 01 April 2012 - 05:58 PM

Actually, you can. The black and white columns version is supported as well.

- Madhav.


Well, if it works, is this what I am supposed to do:

1. Rename the MS .bmp file to "tiles" so Tile World recognizes the file.
2. Take the other tiles.bmp out of the Tile World folder.
3. Run Tile World.

If that is what I'm supposed to do [which I don't think is correct], it doesn't work for me. If I do that and start tile world and start a levelset, the game closes.

I wish I knew more about Tile World than I do.

But, I'm happy though - I changed all the sounds from Tile World to CC finally. :)
  • 0

#5 geodave

    Quincunx

  • Members
  • 1,321 posts

  • Joined: 04-January 12
  • Favourite Set:N/A
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 April 2012 - 01:35 AM

That should have worked. Maybe the format is not recognized....
  • 0

#6 geodave

    Quincunx

  • Members
  • 1,321 posts

  • Joined: 04-January 12
  • Favourite Set:N/A
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 April 2012 - 01:39 AM

you can try this one:

http://cczone.invisi...le/81-tilesbmp/
  • 1

#7 IceyLava108

    When Insects Attack

  • Members
  • 1,027 posts

  • Joined: 14-March 12
  • Location:idk
  • Favourite Set:CC1
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels
Contributor

Posted 02 April 2012 - 01:59 AM

you can try this one:

http://cczone.invisi...le/81-tilesbmp/


<3 <3 <3

Now my tile world looks and sounds like MSCC. thanks! :chipwin: :chipwin:
  • 0

#8 M11k4

    UNDERGROUND

  • Senior Staff
  • 755 posts

  • Joined: 01-January 12
  • Favourite Set:CCLP3
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels
Contributor

Posted 02 April 2012 - 04:05 AM

I wasn't able to check, but is that the larger version than the original?
  • 0

#9 IceyLava108

    When Insects Attack

  • Members
  • 1,027 posts

  • Joined: 14-March 12
  • Location:idk
  • Favourite Set:CC1
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels
Contributor

Posted 02 April 2012 - 05:02 AM

I wasn't able to check, but is that the larger version than the original?


Yes.

I just finished MIXED NUTS on TW2 using this set, it looks very much like MSCC! :D


  • 0

#10 geodave

    Quincunx

  • Members
  • 1,321 posts

  • Joined: 04-January 12
  • Favourite Set:N/A
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 April 2012 - 07:57 PM

I have a smaller version on another computer I can't get to right now. Maybe someone else has it?
  • 0

#11 Lessinath

    MIXED NUTS

  • Moderator
  • 628 posts

  • Joined: 01-January 12
  • Favourite Set:CC1
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag
  • My Top CC1 Levels
  • My Bottom CC1 Levels

Posted 13 April 2012 - 08:39 AM

Actually, you can. The black and white columns version is supported as well.

- Madhav.


What's the largest size of tile I can put in there and what impact does a larger graphics tile have? If there isn't a limit, how can I specify a large tile size? If it's possible, I'd totally make high res textures for it. We're talking like 500x500 per tile. If Tile World itself can handle it, my computer can run it.
  • 0

#12 Vesko

    LESSON 1

  • Members
  • 1 posts

  • Joined: 24-August 13
  • Location:Sofia
  • Favourite Set:CC1
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 24 August 2013 - 06:19 PM

 

Thank you! That's exactly what I needed! It needed some editing because there was a line with different colour at the border of some of the tiles.


  • 0

#13 bobdabaron

    LESSON 7

  • Members
  • 32 posts

  • Joined: 17-May 16
  • Favourite Set:CCLP1
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 February 2017 - 04:52 AM

Late to the party (again), but does anyone know where I can find CC graphics for atiles? I've seen a few videos here and there with the original graphics but the smooth in-between animations of the Lynx rules, so I know the set is out there somewhere, just not here (been unable to find it anywhere).

 

EDIT: Figured it out! (solution here for anyone else with the same question)

Just delete your atiles.bmp entirely, and Lynx rules will read from the tiles.bmp, and apply the same image in the in-betweens.

Or, you can copy the CC1 graphics file and name it atiles, still works.

The critical piece of info I was missing was that Tile World Lynx does not need that full-sized jumbo tileset in order to function, it can do just fine with the reduced MS-sized set.

 

COOL!!!


  • 1

#14 The Architect

    TELEBLOCK

  • CCLP4 Staff
  • 67 posts

  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Favourite Set:N/A
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 February 2017 - 11:43 PM

As you found, simply removing "atiles.bmp" (or deleting its entry in the "rc" configure file) forces Tile World to "animate" the tiles in "tiles.bmp". But if you want an actual animated version of the MSCC tileset, check out my brother's mod here:

 

https://groups.yahoo...d MSCC Tileset/

 

There are two separate versions, one for normal Tile World and one that supports the iceblock patch.


  • 0

#15 bobdabaron

    LESSON 7

  • Members
  • 32 posts

  • Joined: 17-May 16
  • Favourite Set:CCLP1
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 01 March 2017 - 12:35 AM

oh my god his walk... it's so... adorable! It's all wiggly  :P the balls remind me of CC2, the frog reminds me of the Gruzzles from an old DOS game Word Rescue.

One of Chip's in-between frames is zieging hile?

http://imgur.com/dO9zYzE

 

This is fun! Somebody made a blown-up-to-Tile-World version of the original CC1 set but the bmp had some jpg artifacts around the characters, I've been cleaning them up as best I could to have a clean version, I might have to figure out how to scale this one up without adding too many artifacts. Thanks a million for sharing this!


  • 0

#16 The Architect

    TELEBLOCK

  • CCLP4 Staff
  • 67 posts

  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Favourite Set:N/A
  • Gender: Gender
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 01 March 2017 - 11:37 PM

One of Chip's in-between frames is zieging hile?

http://imgur.com/dO9zYzE

 

I think the idea was simply to avoid having Chip's arm seesawing up and down while running in profile.  :P

 

And you're welcome.  :)


  • 0





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: tile world, cc, graphics, change, help

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users